baz and john_edited_edited

TheThe Different Styles of Aikido 

The original school of Aikido founded by Morihei Ueshiba O'Sensei in 1925. Emphasis is placed on large flowing movements, Randori / Multiple attackers and weapons applications.

Ki-Aikido / Shi-Shin Toitsu
Developed in the 1960's by Koichi Tohei. Emphasis is placed on excercises to develop Ki / Natural power.

Yoshinkan Aikido
Developed in the early 1950's by Gozo Shioda. Emphasis is placed on strong, dynamic movements, Randori and Goshin Waza / Practical applications.

Yoseikan Budo
Developed by Minoru Mochizuki. Emphasis is based combing all aspects of Budo / Fighting Arts. In particular Atemi / Striking vital points, Buki / Weapons plus elements of Judo and Karate.


Iwama Ryu Aikido
Developed in the early 1960's by Morihiro Saito. Emphasis is placed on following O'Sensei's style. Weapons Kata / Patterns and Awase / Blending techniques are practised equally.


Tomiki Aikido / Shudokan
Developed by Kenji Tomiki. Differs from other styles as Tomiki Aikido is competitive. Kata / Patterns, Buki / Weapons and Kumite / competition make up the majority of the syllabus.

Daito Ryu Aiki-Ju-Jutsu
The fore runner to traditional Aikido. Taught to O'Sensei by Sokaku Takeda. Emphasis is placed on strong effective application of technique.